Rest Days

Author
StacyK
Platinum Elite (500+ posts)
  • Total Posts : 633
2012/05/09 19:14:44 (permalink)

Rest Days

Do I really need to rest after doing weights even if I am not sore? My usual routine is  a kelly coffey-meyer weight workout plus her stepboxing on two days a week. I like to do an aerotone workout the other days (i.e. Coffey-Meyer's {Circuit Burn}5896^ or The Firm). I figured I'm not doing heavy weight lifting and might be able to get by without rests. Is this a bad idea? (I really don't like doing just cardio!) I do rest at least one day per week and often two.

Thanks!
StacyK

8 Replies Related Threads

Alice Kathleen
    • Total Posts : 1090
    Re:Rest Days 2012/05/10 12:10:22 (permalink)
    Gosh Stacy, I am no expert,  but here's what comes to my mind when I read the post.   To me, 
    free weights should be done to point of fatigue,  ie, feeling the muscle struggling.   That amount
    may be different for all of us.   I had a female co worker who did her biceps curls  (my job
    had a free 24 hour 365 day  gym for employees,  best perk ever)  with 30 pound weights!   I could barely lift
    30 pounds, much less do curls with that amount.    So,  you may need to increase the amount
    of weight (and how many reps?  How many sets?)  you are using.   I might suggest reading
    a couple books from library on weight training too,  thousands of men and women have
    toned and strengthened over the decades using simple moves and free weights,  and they do
    work.   Do you need to rest?  If you are maxing out,  yes.  If you are using light weights and
    few reps,  no.   Depends on your goals, too.  My regimen for last 30 years is to do weights on 
    Sunday/Tues/Friday.
    megw
    • Total Posts : 4702
    Re:Rest Days 2012/05/10 14:04:07 (permalink)