Do I have to keep increasing weight of dumbbells?

Author
NewMe2Be
Bronze member (<100 posts)
  • Total Posts : 2
2008/09/25 13:09:38 (permalink)

Do I have to keep increasing weight of dumbbells?

I am fairly new to working out with weights and have started using the Firm dvds that come with their dumbbells.  I made each one weigh 7 lbs. (the heaviest I can get them to be), and it feels easy after working with the CDs for a few weeks.  So I'm wondering if now I need to get 8-lb, then 10-lb, etc., etc. to continue to get benefits of shaping.  If I keep using the same weight, won't my muscles adjust and not improve the toning? 
I'm 46, have lost 41 lbs. and have another 20+ pounds to go.  I really want muscle definition just to be stronger and more shapely, but I don't want 5 sets of dumbbells laying around the house if I can continue to make muscle-shaping progress using the same weights. 
Thank you for your help.

This is the journey of a lifetime, and it's taken one step at a time.

8 Replies Related Threads

w.o.w.
    Platinum Elite (500+ posts)
    • Total Posts : 2185
    Re:Do I have to keep increasing weight of dumbbells? 2008/09/25 13:15:43 (permalink)
    Yes, in order to keep challenging your muscles, you should up your weights. If the current weight feels easy, that is a good indicator that it is time to increase your weight loads! Happy lifting!! Sounds like you are making progress!

I have many sets of dumbbells and find that for high rep workouts like Jari, I do use some of the lighter weights. For workouts (Cathe, Kelly, Amy) I use my heavier weights and my barbell. I think if you start alternating lighter/high rep workouts, with heavier slower ones, you will find that you want to have a variety of weights ti use anyway. You might want to start alternating workout types as you continue to advance, and you WILL see major results with increasing muscle mass and definition from alternating lifting styles. HTH!

NewMe2Be